Washington, D.C. - Legislation to honor fallen Minnesota National Guardsmen, authored by Representatives Michelle Fischbach (MN-07) and Tom Emmer (MN-06) have now passed in the Senate after being introduced by Senators Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) and Tina Smith (D-MN). The Avon Post Office is to be renamed in honor of Army National Guard Warrant Officer Candidate Kort M. Plantenberg; the Perham Post Office renamed in honor after Army National Guard Chief Warrant Officer Charles P. Nord; and the Winsted Post Office renamed in honor of Chief Warrant Officer James A. Rogers Jr. The bills now go to the President’s desk to be signed into law.

These three Minnesota National Guardsmen were tragically killed on December 5, 2019 when their UH-60L Black Hawk helicopter experienced engine failure during their flight.

“We can never honor our fallen the way they truly deserve, but every step we can take is a meaningful one. Charles Nord and James Rogers of Minnesota’s 7th District and Kort Plantenberg of the 6th District were deeply passionate about their service to this country and loved by their family and friends in their communities, who still gather together to share stories and memories” said Congresswoman Fischbach. “I am so pleased that with the passing of this legislation to rename the post offices in Perham, Winsted, and Avon we can take one small step to memorialize these three patriots the way they deserve.”

“Kort, James and Charles gave their lives in service of Minnesotans. We are proud to honor their legacy by creating a living memorial in the communities they called home,” said Congressman Emmer. 

“Sergeant Plantenberg, Chief Warrant Officer Nord, and Chief Warrant Officer Rogers made the ultimate sacrifice serving our country,” said Senator Klobuchar. “By renaming the Avon, Perham, and Winsted Post Offices in their honor, we will pay tribute to their legacies and help Minnesotans keep their memories alive for generations to come. Thank you to Representatives Emmer and Fischbach for leading this effort in the House."

"These men gave their lives in service to our country," said Senator Smith. "Sergeant Plantenberg, Chief Warrant Officer Nord, and Chief Warrant Officer Rogers are well deserving of this honor, and they will be remembered by Minnesotans for the sacrifice they made."